Skip to content

Why blog?

February 15, 2011

I thought it was probably about time to talk about why I actually started this blog in the first place.

I think the idea stemmed from a desire to create something. I first started writing down my random thoughts, not as a blog but random scribblings, almost out of necessity at a point in my life when I needed some kind of outlet to vent my frustrations at what I felt was the futility and stupidity of life in general. I reached a point when I decided I should start doing something constructive and kind of out of the blue a friend suggested that I should start a blog.

I really like that a blog is a constant stream of posts; a paper-trail of past thoughts. This blog is a collection of my ideas, interests and opinions; they, and it, will change, fluctuate and evolve.

I like the conflicting anonymity and publicity of a blog: I could be anyone, writing anywhere, telling lies or revealing truths. But at the same time a blog is by definition completely, unreservedly public; it exists only on the internet, entirely exposed and accessible to anyone who wants to read it.

There is one more thing about this blog: So far I haven’t told anyone it exists. I think the reason for this is to be able  to create just for the sake of it, without the pressure of wondering about anyone’s opinion. Maybe soon I’ll start publicising it, but for the moment it remains my secret amusement.

No comments yet

Leave a comment